Historical regions in the county

Historical division of the County

Harghita county is an administrative area formed in 1968, becoming an independent administrative unit from the southeast part of the Mures Autonomous Province formed in its turn on the model of the Soviet administrative area in 1952.

Harghita county can be divided into three main regions that can be divided further in their turns, as we can find an independent ethnographical zone along almost every river and stream. The above mentioned three great regions are Ciuc Seat (Tinutul Ciucului) including Ciuc, Gheorgheni and Casinu Affiliated Seats in the southeast, here belongs also a part of the Trotus River Valley, the Ghimeses, populated in the 18th century by the Csángós fled to Moldova; Odorhei Seat (Tinutul Odorheiului) with Cristuru Seat affiliated to it in the southwest and the Toplita county in the north.

Historical division

The settlements in the Ciuc's and the Giurgheu's basins as well as in the Casinu Valley belong to Ciuc Seat (Tinutul Ciucului).

The valleys of the Varghis, Homorodu Mic and Mare, Tarnava Mica and Mare, the Nicau- and the Gagy regions, the valleys of Chismed and the Soimusi as well as the settlements of the salt district (with Praid as centre) belong to Odorhei Seat (Tinutul Odorheiului).

The neighbourhood of Toplita is made up of the settlements situated along the upper flow of the Mures and in the Tulghes Defilee connecting Transylvania to Moldova.